My Transition

As I mentioned in my first post,  I am still new to veganism.  My journey has been a rewarding one so far and one that I intend to continue on for the rest of my life.

Until this year (and more specifically, the past several months),  I was never into animal rights.  To the old me, it seemed like a contradiction.  Animals aren’t supposed to have rights!  They are animals!  I hunted small game with my dad and his friends and while I didn’t have a problem actually killing the animal, I was never able to skin it.  Nor was I ever able to chop up the animal into parts.  I left those jobs to my father.

In high school I had a friend who was a vegetarian (she is no longer vegetarian).  She was vegetarian because she was not comfortable eating a dead body.  To her, the life of a cow and a fish was equal to that of a human.  I disagreed with her reasoning then but her just being vegetarian was enough to plant a seed in my brain.

Then, almost three years after I graduated high school, I decided to give up all meat, poultry, and fish for Lent.  My original intention was to be vegetarian only for the duration of Lent.  But as Lent progressed I began doing more research into vegetarianism.  I started looking at vegetarian blogs and even joined a vegetarian forum.   I began to educate myself on the treatment of livestock and after a lot of thinking and praying, I realized I was no longer comfortable eating meat.  I realized that the practice of eating meat was not line in with my other beliefs.  So after Easter Sunday I announced that I was going to remain a vegetarian.

Then, over the summer, I began to look into the treatment of dairy cows and laying hens.  I began doing research on animal testing and what happens to the animals that are used for leather and wool and other products we use everyday.  And I realized that I wanted nothing to do with any of it.

But I was still hesitant to make the change I knew I needed to: go vegan.  And then I watched the film “Earthlings”.  And seeing how we treated animals, instead of reading about it, made the decision to become vegan the easiest thing to do.

I had my “last meal” as a non-vegan on August 22, 2010.  August 23, 2010 was the first day of my veganism.

My Philosophy

I believe that all life is sacred.  I believe that my life is not worth more than the life of any other living being.  I believe that it is wrong to exploit animals and use them as tools to get what you want.  I believe that we can all live together peacefully.

